Distinguished Alumni Event

The Temple Education Foundation (TEF) Distinguished Alumni Award was created in 2014 as a way to recognize distinguished alumni from Temple Independent School District (TISD) while shining the spotlight on the great accomplishments Temple graduates have made. Each fall, the TEF recognizes a Distinguished Alumni with an award presented at an event featuring the distinguished guest.In the previous four years, nearly $325,000 has been raised for student scholarships and innovative teaching grants.


Upcoming Award Dinner

The Temple Education Foundation is proud to announce two new honorees for 2018, Dr. Robin Battershell and Mr. Steve Wright, for their dedication, commitment, and remarkable contributions to the Temple Independent School District the past 10 and 12 years respectively. A very special evening is planned to honor Robin and Steve. It will include an open house and tours of the new Career and Technical Education Center (CTE) for the Community. An appreciation dinner later that evening highlighting their many achievements will be held in the Temple High School Library for sponsors and donors.

Date: Thursday, October 18, 2018
Location: Temple High School
CTE Open House: 4:45 – 7:00 PM
Library Dinner: 7:15 PM
Dress: Business Casual

Past Honorees
Coach McQueen

The 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award recognized and honored longtime Temple Wildcat football coach and athletic director Bob McQueen. Coach McQueen is a great role model and example to all TISD students and the community.

Keifer Marshall - Poster
Keifer Marshall

The 2016 Distinguished Alumni was Veteran Keifer Marshall, survivor at the famous Battle of Iwo Jima, Fox Company, 2nd Battalion, 9th Marines and Temple graduate.

Joe Green

In 2015, TEF recognized Joe Green, #75 of the Pittsburgh Steelers in the 1970’s and former Dunbar High School student and Temple graduate.

Eric Paslay

The 2014 Distinguished Alumni was Eric Paslay, country western singer and former Temple High School graduate.